Cornus sericea L.
Common Name: RED-OSIER
Synonym: Cornus stolonifera
Coefficient of Conservatism: 2
Coefficient of Wetness: -3
Wetness Index: FACW
Physiognomy: Nt Shrub

C. stolonifera of Michigan Flora.

In almost all sorts of moist situations: marshes, swamps (even coniferous, with tamarack, spruce, and/or cedar), wet shores, sides of rivers and streams; on rock outcrops and talus slopes; coniferous and mixed thickets on shores and common on sand dunes.

The underside of the leaves varies from sparsely pubescent with a few appressed often 2-pronged hairs to having dense curly hairs. Plants with the latter are sometimes recognized as C. baileyi J. M. Coult. & Evans, and occur often on sand dunes and shores, though widespread elsewhere in our area. This entity needs further study.

This species is sometimes subsumed under the Eurasian Cornus alba L. Although the branches are typically bright red, occasionally they are green (but may turn red in drying); a form with yellow twigs is cultivated, as are some other red-stemmed species. Cornus foemina may have white pith but has gray bark, never curly pubescence, and often fewer as well as less bold leaf veins compared to C. sericea; see comments under that species.


Alcona County
Alger County
Allegan County
Alpena County
Antrim County
Arenac County
Baraga County
Barry County
Bay County
Benzie County
Berrien County
Branch County
Calhoun County
Cass County
Charlevoix County
    Including Beaver Island
Cheboygan County
Chippewa County
    Including Drummond Island
Clare County
Clinton County
Crawford County
Delta County
Dickinson County
Eaton County
Emmet County
Genesee County
Gladwin County
Gogebic County
Grand Traverse County
Gratiot County
Hillsdale County
Houghton County
Huron County
Ingham County
Ionia County
Iosco County
Isabella County
Jackson County
Kalamazoo County
Kalkaska County
Kent County
Keweenaw County
    Including Isle Royale
Lake County
Lapeer County
Leelanau County
    Including Fox Islands
    Including Manitou Islands
Lenawee County
Livingston County
Luce County
Mackinac County
    Including Bois Blanc, Mackinac, Round Islands
Macomb County
Manistee County
Marquette County
Mason County
Mecosta County
Menominee County
Midland County
Missaukee County
Monroe County
Montcalm County
Muskegon County
Newaygo County
Oakland County
Oceana County
Ogemaw County
Ontonagon County
Osceola County
Otsego County
Ottawa County
Presque Isle County
Roscommon County
Saginaw County
Sanilac County
Schoolcraft County
Shiawassee County
St. Clair County
St. Joseph County
Tuscola County
Van Buren County
Washtenaw County
Wayne County


MICHIGAN FLORA ONLINE. A. A. Reznicek, E. G. Voss, & B. S. Walters. February 2011. University of Michigan. Web. August 13, 2022.