Campanula rotundifolia L.
Coefficient of Conservatism: 6
Coefficient of Wetness: 3
Wetness Index: FACU
Physiognomy: Nt P-Forb

Sandy shores and dunes (old and young); dry, usually sandy, savanna and openings with oak, hickory, sassafras, and/or jack pine; limestone crevices and gravels around the Niagara Escarpment, and on other sedimentary and granitic rock outcrops and crevices elsewhere; prairies, dry meadows, and river banks, thickets; occasionally along roadsides.

While the corolla is usually blue, white-flowered plants [f. albiflora E. L. Rand & Redfield in North America] are occasionally found, together with intermediate shades. One collection from Presque Isle Co. has all of the floral parts doubled. Plants with the vegetative parts and ovaries ± densely puberulent were described from Michigan (TL: Indian River, Cheboygan Co.) in 1878 as var. canescens E. J. Hill.

Our plants are Campanula rotundifolia subsp. gieseckiana (Vest) Cajander, sometimes recognized as C. gieseckiana Vest. This has larger, fewer flowers that the typical subspecies of Europe, though there are other entities in Asia, and even Greenland and the North Atlantic regions. 


Alcona County
Alger County
Allegan County
Alpena County
Antrim County
Arenac County
    Only on Charity Island
Baraga County
Barry County
Benzie County
Berrien County
Branch County
Calhoun County
Cass County
Charlevoix County
    Including Beaver Island
Cheboygan County
Chippewa County
    Including Drummond Island
Crawford County
Delta County
Dickinson County
Eaton County
Emmet County
Grand Traverse County
Hillsdale County
Houghton County
Huron County
Ingham County
Ionia County
Iosco County
Iron County
Isabella County
Jackson County
Kalamazoo County
Kalkaska County
Kent County
Keweenaw County
    Including Isle Royale
Lake County
Leelanau County
    Including Fox Islands
    Including Manitou Islands
Lenawee County
Livingston County
Mackinac County
    Including Bois Blanc, Mackinac, Round Islands
Macomb County
Manistee County
Marquette County
Mason County
Mecosta County
Menominee County
Midland County
Missaukee County
Monroe County
Montcalm County
Montmorency County
Muskegon County
Newaygo County
Oakland County
Oceana County
Ontonagon County
Oscoda County
Otsego County
Ottawa County
Presque Isle County
Roscommon County
Schoolcraft County
St. Clair County
St. Joseph County
Van Buren County
Washtenaw County
Wayne County
Wexford County


MICHIGAN FLORA ONLINE. A. A. Reznicek, E. G. Voss, & B. S. Walters. February 2011. University of Michigan. Web. September 28, 2021.