Symphyotrichum novae-angliae (L.) G. L. Nesom
Synonym: Aster novae-angliae
Coefficient of Conservatism: 3
Coefficient of Wetness: -3
Wetness Index: FACW
Physiognomy: Nt P-Forb

Symphyotrichum novae-angliae Ann Arbor Natural Area Preservation

Aster novae-angliae of Michigan Flora.

Open, usually moist to wet ground, including shores, meadows, fields, shrubby swamps, fens and wet prairies, edges of streams and rivers, thickets; dryish to moist forests (especially along banks and roadsides); somewhat weedy in habit. The Schoolcraft Co. specimen is said to have escaped from cultivation, and it is possible that some of the other northern records are also escapes, though from more natural habitats. Also clear is that most of the northern records are recent; the species having evidently spread northwards recently from an original range that may have been largely the southern half of the Lower Peninsula. 

Like many other asters, the ray color varies from blue to purple, occasionally rose. White-rayed plants, however, appear to be very rare. Where this species grows with S. ericoides, an attractive hybrid, S. ×amethystinum (Nutt.) G. L. Nesom, may occur. It is quite intermediate between these very different parents, with the leaves resembling miniature ones of S. novae-angliae but the copiously flowering inflorescence with smaller heads resembling that of S. ericoides, but with light blue rays. The phyllaries mostly lack the tiny spinose tips of the latter, although the leaves may have such tips. This hybrid has been collected in Macomb, Monroe, Oakland, Washtenaw, and Wayne Cos.


Allegan County
Alpena County
Antrim County
Arenac County
    Including Charity Island
Barry County
Bay County
Benzie County
Berrien County
Branch County
Calhoun County
Cass County
Charlevoix County
    Only on Beaver Island
Cheboygan County
Chippewa County
    Including Drummond Island
Clare County
Clinton County
Crawford County
Delta County
Dickinson County
Eaton County
Emmet County
Genesee County
Gogebic County
Grand Traverse County
Gratiot County
Hillsdale County
Houghton County
Huron County
Ingham County
Iosco County
Isabella County
Jackson County
Kalamazoo County
Kent County
Lake County
Lapeer County
Leelanau County
Lenawee County
Livingston County
Macomb County
Manistee County
Marquette County
Mason County
Mecosta County
Menominee County
Midland County
Missaukee County
Monroe County
Montcalm County
Muskegon County
Newaygo County
Oakland County
Oceana County
Ogemaw County
Ontonagon County
Roscommon County
Saginaw County
Sanilac County
Schoolcraft County
Shiawassee County
St. Clair County
St. Joseph County
Tuscola County
Van Buren County
Washtenaw County
Wayne County


MICHIGAN FLORA ONLINE. A. A. Reznicek, E. G. Voss, & B. S. Walters. February 2011. University of Michigan. Web. September 30, 2022.