Viola sororia Willd.
Coefficient of Conservatism: 1
Coefficient of Wetness: 0
Wetness Index: FAC
Physiognomy: Nt P-Forb

Dry to moist, sometimes swampy, deciduous forests and thickets (including oak-hickory, beech-maple, very rarely pine).

All gradations from glabrous through lightly to strongly pubescent leaves occur in V. sororia.

The spring leaves equal or surpass the flowers. If the characteristic oblong-rounded sepals and ± obtuse short leaf blades of V. sororia are not clear enough to distinguish it from V. affinis, it may help to remember that pubescent plants of the latter (which may, of course, may result from hybridization with V. sororia) should have the spurred petal at least lightly bearded. Occasional plants of V. sororia with more acute sepals than usual may represent hybrids. Glabrous plants of V. sororia differ from V. cucullata in having shorter peduncles and poorly developed sepal auricles (which are relatively large in V. cucullata, especially as the fruit matures). Gil-Ad (1997) recognizes a more northern Viola septentrionalis, best characterized by seed and capsule characters, plus having hairs on the spurred lower petal (as in V. affinis).


Alcona County
Alger County
Allegan County
Antrim County
Baraga County
Barry County
Bay County
Benzie County
Berrien County
Branch County
Calhoun County
Cass County
Charlevoix County
Cheboygan County
Chippewa County
    Including Drummond Island
Clare County
Clinton County
Eaton County
Emmet County
Genesee County
Gogebic County
Grand Traverse County
Gratiot County
Hillsdale County
Houghton County
Huron County
Ingham County
Ionia County
Iron County
Isabella County
Jackson County
Kalamazoo County
Kalkaska County
Kent County
Keweenaw County
    Including Isle Royale
Lake County
Lapeer County
Leelanau County
    Including Fox Islands
Lenawee County
Livingston County
Luce County
Mackinac County
Macomb County
Manistee County
Marquette County
Mason County
Menominee County
Midland County
Missaukee County
Monroe County
Montcalm County
Muskegon County
Newaygo County
Oakland County
Oceana County
Ontonagon County
Osceola County
Ottawa County
Presque Isle County
Roscommon County
Saginaw County
Sanilac County
Schoolcraft County
Shiawassee County
St. Clair County
St. Joseph County
Tuscola County
Van Buren County
Washtenaw County
Wayne County
Wexford County


MICHIGAN FLORA ONLINE. A. A. Reznicek, E. G. Voss, & B. S. Walters. February 2011. University of Michigan. Web. November 29, 2022.