Acer saccharum Marshall
Coefficient of Conservatism: 5
Coefficient of Wetness: 3
Wetness Index: FACU
Physiognomy: Nt Tree

This is the maple of “beech-maple” forests, where it is also often associated with hemlock, yellow birch (northward), basswood, ironwood, and other species (beech is absent from the western Upper Peninsula); it is also a component of diverse mixed hardwood forests, especially in the southern part of the state. It thrives on a diversity of soils, including stabilized (forested) dunes receiving moisture-laden winds off the Great Lakes, but rarely in swamps.

Hard maple is a major timber tree in Michigan, the most important hardwood, for durable uses such as flooring, mallets and handles, and chopping blocks, as well as furniture and veneer. Production of maple syrup and sugar from the sap has been important since before Europeans invaded the region, and indeed maple sugar was a major article of trade among the Native Americans. Michigan’s maple syrup production is the fifth highest in the nation. This is a handsome shade tree, the foliage becoming various shades of yellow, orange, and red in the fall. See notes under A. nigrum.


Alcona County
Alger County
Allegan County
Alpena County
Antrim County
Baraga County
Barry County
Benzie County
Berrien County
Calhoun County
Cass County
Charlevoix County
    Including Beaver Island
Cheboygan County
Chippewa County
    Including Drummond Island
Clare County
Crawford County
Delta County
Eaton County
Emmet County
Genesee County
Gladwin County
Gogebic County
Grand Traverse County
Gratiot County
Hillsdale County
Houghton County
Huron County
Ingham County
Ionia County
Iosco County
Iron County
Jackson County
Kalamazoo County
Kalkaska County
Kent County
Keweenaw County
    Including Isle Royale
Lake County
Lapeer County
Leelanau County
    Including Fox Islands
    Including Manitou Islands
Lenawee County
Livingston County
Luce County
Mackinac County
    Including Bois Blanc, Mackinac, Round Islands
Manistee County
Marquette County
Mason County
Mecosta County
Montmorency County
Muskegon County
Newaygo County
Oakland County
Oceana County
Ogemaw County
Ontonagon County
Oscoda County
Otsego County
Ottawa County
Saginaw County
Sanilac County
Schoolcraft County
Shiawassee County
St. Clair County
Tuscola County
Van Buren County
Washtenaw County
Wayne County


MICHIGAN FLORA ONLINE. A. A. Reznicek, E. G. Voss, & B. S. Walters. February 2011. University of Michigan. Web. December 3, 2022.