Rosa blanda Aiton
Common Name: WILD ROSE
Coefficient of Conservatism: 3
Coefficient of Wetness: 3
Wetness Index: FACU
Physiognomy: Nt Shrub

Dunes, sandy bluffs, and shores; jack pine savanna, river banks, and borders of forests and thickets; rocky openings and outcrops; fields and fencerows. Plants with white flowers [f. alba (Erlanson) Fernald] are rarely found.

Hybrids with the hexaploid R. acicularis are noted under that species. Hybrids with R. palustris, also a diploid, are more frequent than those with R. acicularis and may be called R. ×palustriformis Rydb. In this hybrid, the influence of R. palustris is usually seen in finely serrate leaflets and, sometimes, in a glandular-hispid hypanthium, although the pedicel and hypanthium are usually smooth; the influence of R. blanda is seen in the smooth lateral shoots and the usual absence of stout curved infranodal prickles, although there are small internodal prickles. The hybrid flowers between the early-blooming R. blanda (peaking in June) and the late-blooming R. palustris (peaking in late July). (Rosa acicularis tends to flower in late May or early June, some days before R. blanda.)


Alcona County
Alger County
Allegan County
Alpena County
Antrim County
Arenac County
Baraga County
Bay County
Benzie County
Berrien County
Charlevoix County
    Including Beaver Island
Cheboygan County
Chippewa County
    Including Drummond Island
Crawford County
Delta County
Dickinson County
Emmet County
Gogebic County
Grand Traverse County
Gratiot County
Hillsdale County
Houghton County
Huron County
Ionia County
Iosco County
Iron County
Isabella County
Kalkaska County
Kent County
Keweenaw County
    Including Isle Royale
Lake County
Leelanau County
    Including Fox Islands
    Including Manitou Islands
Lenawee County
Livingston County
Luce County
Mackinac County
    Including Bois Blanc, Mackinac, Round Islands
Macomb County
Manistee County
Marquette County
Mason County
Mecosta County
Menominee County
Midland County
Montcalm County
Montmorency County
Muskegon County
Oakland County
Oceana County
Ogemaw County
Ontonagon County
Osceola County
Oscoda County
Otsego County
Ottawa County
Presque Isle County
Saginaw County
Schoolcraft County
St. Clair County
Tuscola County
Van Buren County
Washtenaw County
Wayne County


MICHIGAN FLORA ONLINE. A. A. Reznicek, E. G. Voss, & B. S. Walters. February 2011. University of Michigan. Web. October 27, 2020.