Amelanchier laevis Wiegand
Coefficient of Conservatism: 4
Coefficient of Wetness: 5
Wetness Index: UPL
Physiognomy: Nt Tree

Amelanchier laevis A. A. Reznicek

Like A. arborea, ranges from a shrub to a small tree, most often in dry sandy open forests and savannas, rocky sites, sandy bluffs and shores; also on river banks, at borders of coniferous and deciduous forests, even bog borders.

Referred here are fruiting (and a few vegetative) specimens with short-acuminate, finely toothed, and completely glabrous leaves, but some of these could be hybrids, belong to the A. interior complex, or be unusually glabrous examples of A. arborea (to which have been referred similar specimens retaining at least sparse pubescence on the petiole and midrib beneath). The sepals of this species are often a little longer and more narrowly lanceolate than in A. arborea, but there appears to be no clear distinction in our material.

Plants with glabrous summit on the ovary but obtuse leaves (and perhaps a low colonial habit) are presumably hybrids with the A. spicata complex, expressing their characters in a different combination from the plants included in the A. interior complex. Such plants seem to be quite scarce. Presumed hybrids with A. bartramiana and A. arborea are mentioned under those species.


Alger County
Allegan County
Antrim County
Arenac County
Baraga County
Barry County
Bay County
Benzie County
Berrien County
Calhoun County
Charlevoix County
    Only on Beaver Island
Cheboygan County
Chippewa County
    Including Drummond Island
Crawford County
Delta County
Eaton County
Emmet County
Gogebic County
Gratiot County
Hillsdale County
Houghton County
Huron County
Ingham County
Iosco County
Iron County
Isabella County
Kalamazoo County
Kent County
Keweenaw County
    Including Isle Royale
Lake County
Lapeer County
Leelanau County
    Including Fox Islands
    Including Manitou Islands
Lenawee County
Livingston County
Luce County
Mackinac County
    Including Bois Blanc, Mackinac, Round Islands
Manistee County
Marquette County
Mason County
Mecosta County
Menominee County
Missaukee County
Monroe County
Montmorency County
Muskegon County
Newaygo County
Oakland County
Oceana County
Ontonagon County
Osceola County
Oscoda County
Otsego County
Ottawa County
Presque Isle County
Roscommon County
Sanilac County
Schoolcraft County
Shiawassee County
St. Clair County
Tuscola County
Van Buren County
Washtenaw County
Wayne County
Wexford County


MICHIGAN FLORA ONLINE. A. A. Reznicek, E. G. Voss, & B. S. Walters. February 2011. University of Michigan. Web. December 3, 2022.