Panicum capillare L.
Common Name: WITCH GRASS
Coefficient of Conservatism: 0
Coefficient of Wetness: 0
Wetness Index: FAC
Physiognomy: Nt A-Grass

Dry to moist open (and usually disturbed) ground: roadsides and railroads, fields and gardens, shores and river banks. A native species, but occurring in a diversity of weedy, disturbed sites as well as some more natural habitats. The Panicum capillare complex is a difficult one, but the treatment by Darbyshire & Cayouette (1995) seems to mesh with the variation we see in Michigan, and we recognize five species in Michigan: P. capillare, P. flexile, P. gattingeri, P. philadelphicum, and P. tuckermanii. These can be difficult to key, but each has a distinctive growth habit as well as ecology.

Panicum capillare differs from all the other members of the complex in being a tumbleweed; the peduncle of the primary panicle becomes brittle and readily breaks off. It is much more common and much more variable than the other members of the complex.


Alcona County
Alger County
Allegan County
Alpena County
Antrim County
Arenac County
Baraga County
Bay County
Benzie County
Berrien County
Cass County
Charlevoix County
    Including Beaver Island
Cheboygan County
Chippewa County
Clare County
Clinton County
Crawford County
Delta County
Dickinson County
Emmet County
Genesee County
Gogebic County
Grand Traverse County
Hillsdale County
Houghton County
Huron County
Ingham County
Iosco County
Iron County
Jackson County
Kalamazoo County
Kalkaska County
Kent County
Keweenaw County
Lake County
Lapeer County
Leelanau County
Lenawee County
Livingston County
Luce County
Mackinac County
    Including Bois Blanc, Mackinac, Round Islands
Macomb County
Manistee County
Marquette County
Mason County
Mecosta County
Menominee County
Midland County
Missaukee County
Monroe County
Montmorency County
Muskegon County
Newaygo County
Oakland County
Ogemaw County
Ontonagon County
Osceola County
Oscoda County
Otsego County
Ottawa County
Presque Isle County
Sanilac County
Schoolcraft County
Shiawassee County
St. Clair County
St. Joseph County
Tuscola County
Van Buren County
Washtenaw County
Wayne County
Wexford County


MICHIGAN FLORA ONLINE. A. A. Reznicek, E. G. Voss, & B. S. Walters. February 2011. University of Michigan. Web. August 19, 2022.