Plantago major L.
Coefficient of Conservatism: *
Coefficient of Wetness: 3
Wetness Index: FACU
Physiognomy: Ad P-Forb

Plantago major B. S. Walters

Originally native to Eurasia, but like P. lanceolata now a thoroughly naturalized weed throughout much of the world. Collected in Washtenaw Co. in 1861, in Houghton Co. in 1878, in Wayne Co. in 1884, and in Keweenaw Co. in 1888, so probably well distributed throughout the state at an early date. Disturbed ground, including roadsides and railroads, parking lots, gravel pits and filled land, dumps; moist shores, forests, river banks, floodplains; spreading to mixed forests (including pine, aspen, birch), especially along trails and old roads.

A variable species in habit, size, and foliage. The leaves are usually pubescent on one or both surfaces (more so than in P. rugelii). The sepals are often broadly rounded and the fruit also shorter than in P. rugelii, as well as more rotund. The oddest variant is f. rosea (Decne.) Prahl, with 2–3 leaves on the scape just below the spike; it has been collected in Jackson, Kent, Keweenaw, Washtenaw, and Wayne Cos.


Alcona County
Alger County
Allegan County
Alpena County
Antrim County
Arenac County
Baraga County
Bay County
Benzie County
Berrien County
Cass County
Charlevoix County
    Only on Beaver Island
Cheboygan County
Chippewa County
    Including Drummond Island
Clare County
Clinton County
Crawford County
Delta County
Dickinson County
Emmet County
Gladwin County
Gogebic County
Gratiot County
Hillsdale County
Houghton County
Ingham County
Iron County
Isabella County
Jackson County
Kalamazoo County
Kalkaska County
Kent County
Keweenaw County
    Including Isle Royale
Lake County
Lapeer County
Leelanau County
    Including Fox Islands
    Including Manitou Islands
Lenawee County
Livingston County
Luce County
Mackinac County
    Including Bois Blanc, Mackinac, Round Islands
Macomb County
Manistee County
Marquette County
Mason County
Mecosta County
Menominee County
Monroe County
Montmorency County
Muskegon County
Newaygo County
Oakland County
Oceana County
Ontonagon County
Oscoda County
Otsego County
Ottawa County
Presque Isle County
Roscommon County
Saginaw County
Sanilac County
Schoolcraft County
Shiawassee County
St. Clair County
St. Joseph County
Tuscola County
Washtenaw County
Wayne County


MICHIGAN FLORA ONLINE. A. A. Reznicek, E. G. Voss, & B. S. Walters. February 2011. University of Michigan. Web. September 27, 2022.