Sanguinaria canadensis L.
Common Name: BLOODROOT
Coefficient of Conservatism: 5
Coefficient of Wetness: 3
Wetness Index: FACU
Physiognomy: Nt P-Forb

Usually in rich deciduous forests and floodplain forests, surviving considerable disturbance and clearing; rather local northward.

The common and scientific names derive from the bright red-orange sap, which “bleeds” from the broken rhizome and other parts. This familiar wildflower blooms in April (or early May in the north); the petals are normally white, though rosy-flowered forms are reported.

A single 1868 Isle Royale collection is at MICH, with no collector but "Donor A.B. Lyons." Lyons apparently never collected on Isle Royale, and the Isle Royale specimens were likely duplicates from the 1868 University of Michigan party that collected on Isle Royale, with plants the responsibility of A. E. Foote. The only 1868 Foote collection of Sanguinaria, however, is from Ontonagon Co., and this specimen may have been inadvertently mislabeled Isle Royale. It is not mapped, but nevertheless, Sanguinaria should be looked for on Isle Royale, as it occurs north of Lake Superior in Ontario.


Alcona County
Alger County
Allegan County
Antrim County
Baraga County
Barry County
Bay County
Benzie County
Berrien County
Branch County
Calhoun County
Cass County
Charlevoix County
    Only on Beaver Island
Chippewa County
Clare County
Clinton County
Delta County
Dickinson County
Eaton County
Emmet County
Genesee County
Gladwin County
Grand Traverse County
Gratiot County
Hillsdale County
Houghton County
Huron County
Ingham County
Ionia County
Iosco County
Iron County
Isabella County
Jackson County
Kalamazoo County
Kent County
Keweenaw County
Lake County
Lapeer County
Leelanau County
    Including Fox Islands
    Including Manitou Islands
Lenawee County
Livingston County
Luce County
Mackinac County
    Including Bois Blanc, Mackinac, Round Islands
Manistee County
Marquette County
Mason County
Mecosta County
Menominee County
Midland County
Missaukee County
Monroe County
Montcalm County
Montmorency County
Muskegon County
Newaygo County
Oakland County
Oceana County
Ontonagon County
Osceola County
Otsego County
Ottawa County
Saginaw County
Sanilac County
Schoolcraft County
Shiawassee County
St. Clair County
Tuscola County
Van Buren County
Washtenaw County
Wayne County
Wexford County


MICHIGAN FLORA ONLINE. A. A. Reznicek, E. G. Voss, & B. S. Walters. February 2011. University of Michigan. Web. May 22, 2022.