Lonicera dioica L.
Coefficient of Conservatism: 5
Coefficient of Wetness: 3
Wetness Index: FACU
Physiognomy: Nt W-Vine

Forests and thickets, both coniferous and deciduous; especially characteristic of borders and clearings, banks and rock outcrops, old dunes, fencerows; cedar swamps and sometimes other wetlands.

The foliage is often quite glaucous, especially beneath. Corollas range from yellow to deep maroon, more often at the red end of the spectrum than in L. hirsuta, which is most often yellow. The leaves range from glabrous to pubescent beneath; the ovaries and fruit are glabrous to densely glandular-pubescent.

Two collections (from Baraga and Emmet Cos.) have 2-lipped corollas with tube and total length (over 3 cm), both in the range for L. caprifolium and distinctly too large for L. dioica or L. hirsuta; however, neither has the inflorescence sessile or the leaves glabrous beneath. Both have some cilia on the leaf margins. These may be hybrids involving L. hirsuta and some large-flowered species.


Alcona County
Alger County
Allegan County
Alpena County
Antrim County
Arenac County
    Only on Charity Island
Baraga County
Barry County
Bay County
Benzie County
Berrien County
Calhoun County
Cass County
Charlevoix County
    Including Beaver Island
Cheboygan County
Chippewa County
    Including Drummond Island
Clare County
Clinton County
Crawford County
Delta County
Dickinson County
Eaton County
Emmet County
Genesee County
Gogebic County
Grand Traverse County
Gratiot County
Hillsdale County
Huron County
Ingham County
Ionia County
Iosco County
Isabella County
Jackson County
Kalamazoo County
Kalkaska County
Kent County
Keweenaw County
    Including Isle Royale
Lake County
Lapeer County
Leelanau County
    Including Fox Islands
    Including Manitou Islands
Lenawee County
Livingston County
Mackinac County
    Including Bois Blanc, Mackinac, Round Islands
Macomb County
Manistee County
Marquette County
Mason County
Mecosta County
Midland County
Missaukee County
Montcalm County
Montmorency County
Muskegon County
Newaygo County
Oakland County
Oceana County
Ontonagon County
Oscoda County
Otsego County
Ottawa County
Presque Isle County
Roscommon County
Saginaw County
Sanilac County
Schoolcraft County
Shiawassee County
St. Clair County
Tuscola County
Van Buren County
Washtenaw County
Wayne County


MICHIGAN FLORA ONLINE. A. A. Reznicek, E. G. Voss, & B. S. Walters. February 2011. University of Michigan. Web. June 27, 2022. https://michiganflora.net/species.aspx?id=718.