Symphyotrichum lateriflorum (L.) Á. Löve & D. Löve
Synonym: Aster lateriflorus
Coefficient of Conservatism: 2
Coefficient of Wetness: 0
Wetness Index: FAC
Physiognomy: Nt P-Forb

Symphyotrichum lateriflorum A. A. Reznicek

Aster lateriflorus of Michigan Flora.

Usually in ± shaded ground, including forests (beech-maple, oak-hickory, mixed hardwood and conifers), thickets, borders and clearings, swamps (conifers or hardwoods); floodplains, river banks, ravines, rocky banks and openings; also meadows, shores, and roadsides, mostly along the edges; less commonly in peatlands.

Ordinarily well distinguished by the deeply lobed disk corollas, which all turn rosy early in anthesis (unlike most asters, before starting to wither); leaves with only the midrib hairy beneath; ± one-sided racemose branches of the inflorescence; and stems arising from a short perennial base rather than being colonial from an elongate rhizome. The rather slender stems vary from glabrous to pubescent and are often branched or sprawling from the lower nodes. Leaves vary from linear and entire to elliptic and toothed. Pedicel length varies. Names have been published for some of these intergrading variants. The basal leaves, when present, have relatively broad elliptic or rotund blades. The contrasting white rays, still fresh when the disks are rosy purple, are presumably the source of the common name.


Alcona County
Alger County
Allegan County
Alpena County
Antrim County
Arenac County
Baraga County
Barry County
Bay County
Benzie County
Berrien County
Branch County
Calhoun County
Cass County
Charlevoix County
    Including Beaver Island
Cheboygan County
Chippewa County
    Including Drummond Island
Clare County
Clinton County
Crawford County
Delta County
Dickinson County
Eaton County
Emmet County
Gogebic County
Gratiot County
Hillsdale County
Houghton County
Huron County
Ingham County
Ionia County
Iron County
Jackson County
Kalamazoo County
Kalkaska County
Kent County
Keweenaw County
    Including Isle Royale
Lake County
Lapeer County
Leelanau County
    Including Fox Islands
    Including Manitou Islands
Lenawee County
Livingston County
Luce County
Mackinac County
    Including Bois Blanc, Mackinac, Round Islands
Macomb County
Manistee County
Marquette County
Mason County
Mecosta County
Menominee County
Midland County
Monroe County
Montcalm County
Montmorency County
Muskegon County
Newaygo County
Oakland County
Oceana County
Ogemaw County
Ontonagon County
Osceola County
Oscoda County
Otsego County
Ottawa County
Presque Isle County
Roscommon County
Sanilac County
Schoolcraft County
Shiawassee County
St. Clair County
St. Joseph County
Tuscola County
Van Buren County
Washtenaw County
Wayne County


MICHIGAN FLORA ONLINE. A. A. Reznicek, E. G. Voss, & B. S. Walters. February 2011. University of Michigan. Web. October 22, 2021.