Rudbeckia hirta L.
Coefficient of Conservatism: 1
Coefficient of Wetness: 3
Wetness Index: FACU
Physiognomy: Nt P-Forb

Rudbeckia hirta Ann Arbor Natural Area Preservation

Fields, roadsides, railroads, clearings, fencerows; savanna (with jack pine, aspen, oak), especially in sandy or rocky openings; prairies, fens, sedge meadows, shores; gravel and borrow pits, other disturbed sites.

This is a complex species consisting, according to some authors, of as many as 4 or 5 intergrading varieties. It is also cultivated, especially as large tetraploid cultivars “Gloriosa Daisy.” Most of our plants are the rather weedy var. pulcherrima Farw. A few are apparently var. hirta, with broader, elliptic-ovate lower leaves, an eastern variety characteristic of undisturbed habitats.

The size and color of the rays (and also the disk), the shape and toothing and size of the leaves, and the amount of pubescence on the receptacular chaff are all quite variable. The rays are rarely bicolored, more numerous than usual (heads “double”), or lacking, mostly in escapes of cultivars.


Alcona County
Alger County
Allegan County
Alpena County
Antrim County
Arenac County
    Including Charity Island
Baraga County
Barry County
Bay County
Benzie County
Berrien County
Branch County
Calhoun County
Cass County
Charlevoix County
    Including Beaver Island
Cheboygan County
Chippewa County
    Including Drummond Island
Clare County
Clinton County
Crawford County
Delta County
Dickinson County
Eaton County
Emmet County
Genesee County
Gladwin County
Gogebic County
Grand Traverse County
Gratiot County
Hillsdale County
Houghton County
Huron County
Ingham County
Ionia County
Iosco County
Iron County
Isabella County
Jackson County
Kalamazoo County
Kalkaska County
Kent County
Keweenaw County
    Including Isle Royale
Lake County
Lapeer County
Leelanau County
    Including Fox Islands
    Including Manitou Islands
Lenawee County
Livingston County
Mackinac County
    Including Bois Blanc, Mackinac, Round Islands
Macomb County
Manistee County
Marquette County
Mason County
Mecosta County
Menominee County
Midland County
Monroe County
Montcalm County
Montmorency County
Muskegon County
Newaygo County
Oakland County
Oceana County
Ogemaw County
Ontonagon County
Osceola County
Oscoda County
Otsego County
Ottawa County
Presque Isle County
Roscommon County
Saginaw County
Sanilac County
Schoolcraft County
Shiawassee County
St. Clair County
St. Joseph County
Tuscola County
Van Buren County
Washtenaw County
Wayne County


MICHIGAN FLORA ONLINE. A. A. Reznicek, E. G. Voss, & B. S. Walters. February 2011. University of Michigan. Web. October 6, 2022.