Eupatorium perfoliatum L.
Common Name: BONESET
Coefficient of Conservatism: 4
Coefficient of Wetness: -3
Wetness Index: FACW
Physiognomy: Nt P-Forb

Marshes, swales, wet fields, shores, fens, conifer swamps, thickets, moist clearings, river and stream banks.

Ordinarily a very easily recognized species with its connate pairs of leaves, abundant crinkly septate hairs, and white heads, but quite variable in robustness and other features. Very rarely a plant will have at least several upper pairs of leaves merely sessile and truncate at the base, but not connate [f. truncatum (A. Gray) Fassett], and the flowers are rarely pink-tipped [f. purpureum Britton]. A plant from Cass Co. (Rogers 13011, WUD) with leaves ± tapered to a sessile base and achenes shriveled could be a hybrid with E. serotinum [E. ×polyneuron (F. J. Herm.) Wunderlin]; it was apparently growing with the putative parents.


Alcona County
Alger County
Allegan County
Alpena County
Antrim County
Arenac County
    Including Charity Island
Baraga County
Barry County
Bay County
Benzie County
Berrien County
Branch County
Calhoun County
Cass County
Charlevoix County
    Including Beaver Island
Cheboygan County
Chippewa County
    Including Drummond Island
Clare County
Clinton County
Crawford County
Delta County
Dickinson County
Emmet County
Gladwin County
Gogebic County
Grand Traverse County
Gratiot County
Hillsdale County
Houghton County
Huron County
Ingham County
Iosco County
Iron County
Isabella County
Jackson County
Kalamazoo County
Kalkaska County
Kent County
Keweenaw County
Lake County
Lapeer County
Leelanau County
    Including Manitou Islands
Lenawee County
Livingston County
Luce County
Mackinac County
    Including Bois Blanc, Mackinac, Round Islands
Macomb County
Manistee County
Marquette County
Mason County
Mecosta County
Menominee County
Midland County
Monroe County
Montcalm County
Montmorency County
Muskegon County
Newaygo County
Oakland County
Oceana County
Ogemaw County
Ontonagon County
Oscoda County
Otsego County
Ottawa County
Presque Isle County
Roscommon County
Saginaw County
Sanilac County
Schoolcraft County
St. Clair County
St. Joseph County
Tuscola County
Van Buren County
Washtenaw County
Wayne County


MICHIGAN FLORA ONLINE. A. A. Reznicek, E. G. Voss, & B. S. Walters. February 2011. University of Michigan. Web. September 30, 2022.