Salix eriocephala Michx.
Common Name: WILLOW
Coefficient of Conservatism: 2
Coefficient of Wetness: -3
Wetness Index: FACW
Physiognomy: Nt Shrub

Swamps, shores, dunes, ditches and swales, stream banks, and other wet, sometimes calcareous sites; rarely upland.

Narrow-leaved extremes, with the blades ± acute at both ends, superficially resemble S. petiolaris, but may usually be distinguished by the large, conspicuous stipules, especially on sprouts, and absence of any copper-colored hairs in the pubescence of young leaves (which are generally reddish tinged in this species but not in S. petiolaris). Young pistillate specimens in which the leaves are only partly grown, particularly if they lack the usual red color of unfolding leaves, are sometimes confused with S. nigra, although the latter generally has more distinct small vein islets in the leaves. Salix nigra is usually also distinctive in its very short or nearly absent styles, capsules less dense in ament and ± whorled, and more persistent dark scales in the ament. (Staminate plants of these two species are readily distinguished by stamen number: 2 in S. eriocephala and 4–7 in S. nigra.)


Alcona County
Allegan County
Alpena County
Arenac County
Baraga County
Barry County
Bay County
Benzie County
Berrien County
Calhoun County
Charlevoix County
Cheboygan County
Clinton County
Crawford County
Delta County
Eaton County
Emmet County
Genesee County
Gogebic County
Grand Traverse County
Gratiot County
Hillsdale County
Houghton County
Huron County
Ingham County
Ionia County
Jackson County
Kalamazoo County
Kent County
Keweenaw County
Lake County
Lapeer County
Leelanau County
Lenawee County
Livingston County
Mackinac County
    Including Bois Blanc, Mackinac, Round Islands
Macomb County
Manistee County
Mason County
Mecosta County
Menominee County
Midland County
Missaukee County
Montcalm County
Muskegon County
Newaygo County
Oakland County
Ogemaw County
Ottawa County
Roscommon County
Sanilac County
Schoolcraft County
Shiawassee County
St. Clair County
Tuscola County
Van Buren County
Washtenaw County
Wayne County
Wexford County


MICHIGAN FLORA ONLINE. A. A. Reznicek, E. G. Voss, & B. S. Walters. February 2011. University of Michigan. Web. November 26, 2022.