Fragaria virginiana Mill.
Coefficient of Conservatism: 2
Coefficient of Wetness: 3
Wetness Index: FACU
Physiognomy: Nt P-Forb

Fragaria virginiana A. A. Reznicek

Nearly ubiquitous in a diversity of deciduous, mixed, and coniferous forests and (not-too-wet) swamps, clearings, and shores; but also common in dry sandy forests (jack pine, oak, etc.), roadsides, and fields; along railroads, on dry rocky summits and bluffs, and in grassy places. Although more often in dry open sunny places than F. vesca, may grow with it.

Flowering specimens, especially, of F. virginiana and F. vesca are not always easy to separate. The mature leaflets in F. virginiana are ± dark or bluish green when fresh and (especially the terminal one) usually distinctly petiolulate; the peduncle at maturity is generally shorter than the longest petioles; the flowers tend to be larger (petals up to 12 mm long). In F. vesca the leaflets are a brighter green and sessile; the peduncle at maturity usually exceeds even the longest petioles; and the petals are less than 7 mm long (often as short as 4 mm or even smaller, but in F. virginiana they may also be less than 7 mm). After the petals have fallen, the attitude of the calyx lobes seems to be as dependable a character as any for distinguishing the species.

Most cultivated strawberries are derived from the hybrid F. ×ananassa (Weston) Rozier between F. virginiana and F. chiloensis (L.) Mill., the beach strawberry, from Pacific Coastal regions of North and South America. Garden strawberries may rarely escape or more likely merely persist for a time after cultivation, and specimens are known from Antrim, Kalamazoo, Keweenaw, and Wayne Cos. They differ from F. virginiana in having achenes barely if at all sunken on the ripe receptacle, which is much larger; in coarser foliage; and in consistently bisexual as well as larger flowers (those of F. virginiana sometimes are unisexual).


Alcona County
Alger County
Allegan County
Alpena County
Antrim County
Arenac County
Baraga County
Barry County
Bay County
Benzie County
Berrien County
Calhoun County
Cass County
Charlevoix County
    Including Beaver Island
Cheboygan County
Chippewa County
    Including Drummond Island
Clare County
Clinton County
Crawford County
Delta County
Dickinson County
Eaton County
Emmet County
Genesee County
Gladwin County
Gogebic County
Grand Traverse County
Gratiot County
Hillsdale County
Houghton County
Huron County
Ingham County
Iosco County
Iron County
Isabella County
Jackson County
Kalamazoo County
Kalkaska County
Kent County
Keweenaw County
    Including Isle Royale
Lake County
Lapeer County
Leelanau County
    Including Fox Islands
    Including Manitou Islands
Lenawee County
Livingston County
Luce County
Mackinac County
    Including Bois Blanc, Mackinac, Round Islands
Macomb County
Manistee County
Marquette County
Mason County
Mecosta County
Midland County
Monroe County
Montcalm County
Montmorency County
Muskegon County
Newaygo County
Oakland County
Oceana County
Ogemaw County
Ontonagon County
Osceola County
Oscoda County
Otsego County
Ottawa County
Presque Isle County
Roscommon County
Saginaw County
Sanilac County
Schoolcraft County
Shiawassee County
St. Clair County
Tuscola County
Van Buren County
Washtenaw County
Wayne County
Wexford County


MICHIGAN FLORA ONLINE. A. A. Reznicek, E. G. Voss, & B. S. Walters. February 2011. University of Michigan. Web. September 28, 2022.