Please try our next iteration of the Michigan Flora Online here. Beginning on February 1, 2023, will point to this new site.

The new site offers several benefits over the existing website, including real coordinate mapping, giving a clearer view of the density of documentation as well as more precision about plant distributions and their link to landforms. We will also have the ability to update species pages more regularly, both in terms of new collections and as more existing Michigan specimens are georeferenced. In addition, we have a better photo display, and offer indented keys.

Brachyelytrum aristosum (Michx.) Branner & Coville
Synonym: Brachyelytrum erectum
Coefficient of Conservatism: 7
Coefficient of Wetness: 5
Wetness Index: UPL
Physiognomy: Nt P-Grass

Brachyelytrum aristosum lemma B. S. Walters lemma

Included in B. erectum in Michigan Flora.

Moist to dry deciduous forests, lowland forests, moist thickets, sandy pine forests, and coniferous swamps.

In addition to the pubescence features noted in the key, B. aristosum typically has 3–5-nerved lemmas, florets ca. 8–10 mm long (excluding awn) and 0.7–1.3 mm wide, anthers not over 4 mm long, and more than 15 cilia per 5 mm of leaf margin. Brachyelytrum erectum has more strongly (5–) 7–9-nerved lemmas, at least the larger florets ca. 10–12 mm long and 1–1.6 mm wide, anthers more than 5 mm long, and fewer than 10 cilia per 5 mm of leaf margin. Widespread in Michigan, but more common northwards.


Alger County
Alpena County
Antrim County
Baraga County
Benzie County
Charlevoix County
    Including Beaver Island
Cheboygan County
Chippewa County
Clare County
Clinton County
Crawford County
Delta County
Dickinson County
Emmet County
Genesee County
Gladwin County
Gogebic County
Grand Traverse County
Gratiot County
Houghton County
Ingham County
Iosco County
Iron County
Kalamazoo County
Kalkaska County
Kent County
Keweenaw County
Lake County
Luce County
Mackinac County
Macomb County
Manistee County
Marquette County
Mason County
Mecosta County
Midland County
Montmorency County
Muskegon County
Newaygo County
Oakland County
Oceana County
Ogemaw County
Ontonagon County
Oscoda County
Ottawa County
Roscommon County
Saginaw County
Schoolcraft County
Wayne County
Wexford County


MICHIGAN FLORA ONLINE. A. A. Reznicek, E. G. Voss, & B. S. Walters. February 2011. University of Michigan. Web. January 28, 2023.