Lycopodium clavatum L.
Coefficient of Conservatism: 4
Coefficient of Wetness: 0
Wetness Index: FAC
Physiognomy: Nt Fern Al

Dry to moist deciduous or mixed conifer-hardwood forests, usually on sandy soil.

Separation of our two species of Lycopodium is not as clear as one might hope. A few specimens here placed with L. clavatum have a number of peduncles with a single strobilus, plus a few with two clearly pediceled strobili – and remnant peduncles from the previous year that appeared to all have multiple pediceled strobili. Conversely, some specimens placed here with L. lagopus have all peduncles with solitary or paired and sessile strobili, but have longer, more spreading leaves more like those typical of L. clavatum. It may be that for these baffling specimens, the strobilus character is inadequate, but other characters examined so far have showed considerable overlap. Fortunately, the number of specimens with these problems is not great.

In the field the plants appear more distinct, so this is likely a problem of collections inadequately (or misleadingly) representing the variation. When collecting, notes should always be taken of strobilus number and morphology on a population basis, if possible.


Alcona County
Alger County
Allegan County
Alpena County
Antrim County
Baraga County
Barry County
Benzie County
Berrien County
Cass County
Charlevoix County
    Only on Beaver Island
Cheboygan County
Chippewa County
    Including Drummond Island
Clare County
Clinton County
Crawford County
Delta County
Dickinson County
Eaton County
Emmet County
Gogebic County
Grand Traverse County
Gratiot County
Hillsdale County
Houghton County
Huron County
Ingham County
Iosco County
Iron County
Kalamazoo County
Kalkaska County
Kent County
Keweenaw County
    Including Isle Royale
Lake County
Leelanau County
    Including Manitou Islands
Luce County
Mackinac County
    Including Bois Blanc, Mackinac, Round Islands
Manistee County
Marquette County
Mason County
Mecosta County
Menominee County
Midland County
Missaukee County
Montmorency County
Muskegon County
Newaygo County
Oakland County
Oceana County
Ogemaw County
Ontonagon County
Oscoda County
Otsego County
Ottawa County
Presque Isle County
Roscommon County
Saginaw County
Sanilac County
Schoolcraft County
St. Clair County
St. Joseph County
Van Buren County
Washtenaw County
Wayne County
Wexford County


MICHIGAN FLORA ONLINE. A. A. Reznicek, E. G. Voss, & B. S. Walters. February 2011. University of Michigan. Web. September 27, 2022.