Huperzia lucidula (Michx.) R.Trevis.
Coefficient of Conservatism: 5
Coefficient of Wetness: 0
Wetness Index: FAC
Physiognomy: Nt Fern Al

Moist deciduous, mixed conifer-hardwood, or coniferous forests, often on mossy boulders, logs, and hummocks; frequent and one of the most common clubmosses throughout the state.

This is a distinctive and easily identified species in our flora with several unique features, including toothed, narrowly obovate leaves, stems with conspicuous annual constrictions, and, more microscopically, stomata only on the lower surface of the leaves.

The primary complication is that it may hybridize with H. selago to form H. ×buttersii (Abbe) Kartesz & Gandhi. This hybrid is known in Michigan from Chippewa, Emmet, Keweenaw, Luce, Marquette, and Schoolcraft Counties. and resembles a slender H. lucidula. It is best confirmed by abortive spores, and the presence of scattered stomata on the upper leaf surface.

Huperzia porophila is known on sandstone or basaltic cliff ledges on the north shore of Lake Superior in Ontario, as well as in Minnesota and Wisconsin and could well occur in Michigan. It resembles a small H. lucidula, but with the leaves narrowly triangular to narrowly oblong (widest at or below the middle) and inconspicuous annual constrictions. It is of hybrid origin between H. appressa and H. lucidula, but the abortive-spored primary hybrid, H. ×protoporophila, is also not known in the state, though it should be looked for on Isle Royale.


Alcona County
Alger County
Allegan County
Alpena County
Antrim County
Arenac County
    Only on Charity Island
Baraga County
Barry County
Bay County
Benzie County
Berrien County
Calhoun County
Cass County
Charlevoix County
    Including Beaver Island
Cheboygan County
Chippewa County
    Including Drummond Island
Clinton County
Crawford County
Delta County
Emmet County
Genesee County
Gogebic County
Grand Traverse County
Gratiot County
Hillsdale County
Houghton County
Huron County
Ingham County
Iosco County
Iron County
Jackson County
Kalamazoo County
Kalkaska County
Kent County
Keweenaw County
    Including Isle Royale
Lake County
Lapeer County
Leelanau County
    Including Fox Islands
    Including Manitou Islands
Livingston County
Luce County
Mackinac County
    Including Bois Blanc, Mackinac, Round Islands
Macomb County
Manistee County
Marquette County
Mason County
Mecosta County
Menominee County
Midland County
Missaukee County
Monroe County
Montcalm County
Montmorency County
Muskegon County
Oakland County
Oceana County
Ogemaw County
Ontonagon County
Oscoda County
Otsego County
Ottawa County
Presque Isle County
Roscommon County
Saginaw County
Schoolcraft County
St. Clair County
St. Joseph County
Tuscola County
Van Buren County
Washtenaw County
Wayne County
Wexford County


MICHIGAN FLORA ONLINE. A. A. Reznicek, E. G. Voss, & B. S. Walters. February 2011. University of Michigan. Web. November 30, 2022.