Please try our next iteration of the Michigan Flora Online here. Beginning on February 1, 2023, will point to this new site.

The new site offers several benefits over the existing website, including real coordinate mapping, giving a clearer view of the density of documentation as well as more precision about plant distributions and their link to landforms. We will also have the ability to update species pages more regularly, both in terms of new collections and as more existing Michigan specimens are georeferenced. In addition, we have a better photo display, and offer indented keys.

Iris versicolor L.
Coefficient of Conservatism: 5
Coefficient of Wetness: -5
Wetness Index: OBL
Physiognomy: Nt P-Forb

Wet places generally: lake shores, marshes, river borders, stream bottoms, meadows, ditches, swamps, and sphagnum bogs.

The cauline leaves of I. versicolor are shorter than the tops of the inflorescence, while in I. virginica the cauline leaves frequently overtop the flowers. The ovaries of I. versicolor (at anthesis) are somewhat shorter (1–2 cm long), at least one of them frequently exserted on the pedicel beyond the tip of the spathe, while in I. virginica the ovaries (before forming fruit) are 1.5–3 cm long and usually are not exserted. The bases of plants of I. versicolor are more frequently flushed with purple than are those of I. virginica, which are generally brown. All of these characters are variable, and several must often be considered before identification can be made. A hybrid between the two species has been described as I. ×robusta E. S. Anderson, on the basis of two colonies studied in Mackinac Co. near St. Ignace and at Engadine. Partial albinos (or pale blue forms) are more common in I. virginica.


Alcona County
Alger County
Alpena County
Baraga County
Bay County
Charlevoix County
    Only on Beaver Island
Cheboygan County
Chippewa County
    Including Drummond Island
Crawford County
Delta County
Dickinson County
Emmet County
Gladwin County
Gogebic County
Grand Traverse County
Houghton County
Iosco County
Iron County
Keweenaw County
    Including Isle Royale
Lake County
Leelanau County
    Only on Manitou Islands
Luce County
Mackinac County
Marquette County
Mason County
Mecosta County
Missaukee County
Montmorency County
Newaygo County
Oceana County
Ogemaw County
Ontonagon County
Osceola County
Otsego County
Presque Isle County
Roscommon County
Sanilac County
Schoolcraft County


MICHIGAN FLORA ONLINE. A. A. Reznicek, E. G. Voss, & B. S. Walters. February 2011. University of Michigan. Web. January 30, 2023.