Sambucus racemosa L.
Coefficient of Conservatism: 3
Coefficient of Wetness: 3
Wetness Index: FACU
Physiognomy: Nt Shrub

Sambucus racemosa B. S. Walters

Primarily in beech-maple forests, especially along borders, trails, and clearings, but also with conifers and in mixed forests, thickets, occasionally swamps.

The bright red fruit is very attractive to the eye, but is usually said to be inedible or even poisonous to humans.

This is a variable species, with several allied taxa in the West. Eastern American plants have often been called S. pubens Michx., which is now usually treated as subsp. pubens (Michx.) House or var. pubens (Michx.) Koehne of the European S. racemosa, which is sometimes cultivated. Typical S. racemosa is essentially glabrous, while our plants are usually slightly to densely pubescent on new branchlets and in the inflorescence. There is also much variation in leaflet shape. The uncommon yellow-fruited form [f. xanthocarpa House] has been collected in Mackinac and Washtenaw Cos. A cut-leaved variant has rarely been found—sometimes as a branch on an otherwise normal plant.


Alcona County
Alger County
Allegan County
Alpena County
Antrim County
Arenac County
    Including Charity Island
Baraga County
Barry County
Benzie County
Berrien County
Branch County
Calhoun County
Cass County
Charlevoix County
    Including Beaver Island
Cheboygan County
Chippewa County
    Including Drummond Island
Clare County
Crawford County
Delta County
Dickinson County
Eaton County
Emmet County
Genesee County
Gogebic County
Grand Traverse County
Gratiot County
Hillsdale County
Houghton County
Huron County
Ingham County
Ionia County
Iosco County
Iron County
Isabella County
Jackson County
Kalamazoo County
Kalkaska County
Kent County
Keweenaw County
    Including Isle Royale
Lake County
Lapeer County
Leelanau County
    Including Fox Islands
    Including Manitou Islands
Lenawee County
Livingston County
Mackinac County
    Including Bois Blanc, Mackinac, Round Islands
Macomb County
Marquette County
Mason County
Menominee County
Midland County
Missaukee County
Monroe County
Montcalm County
Montmorency County
Muskegon County
Newaygo County
Oakland County
Ogemaw County
Ontonagon County
Osceola County
Oscoda County
Otsego County
Ottawa County
Presque Isle County
Roscommon County
Saginaw County
Sanilac County
Schoolcraft County
St. Clair County
Tuscola County
Van Buren County
Washtenaw County
Wayne County
Wexford County


MICHIGAN FLORA ONLINE. A. A. Reznicek, E. G. Voss, & B. S. Walters. February 2011. University of Michigan. Web. May 16, 2022.